It’s the Most Wonderful Time of the Year!

It’s my favorite time of the year. The leaves are turning from their bright greens to their bold and rich gold, red, and orange hues. It’s beautiful. There is a chill in the air that makes the bedroom comforter a necessity, not just a decorative piece of bedding. It’s the time for fresh apple cider and apples so crisp and juicy that in just one bite, juice is running down your face.

Yes, it’s Fall, and clearly it’s my favorite season.

Every where you turn, fields of corn and beans are being harvested. If you’re an impatient person, it’s best to stay off of the highways or you may find yourself following a large, slow-moving combine.  I guess after spending most of my life in So ILL, I have a healthy respect for those large pieces of machinery.

One of my new favorite fall specials is the persimmon. I have always loved baking a persimmon pudding for Thanksgiving or Christmas, but I have recently discovered something new. Something so delicious, yet so small. The persimmon cookie.  I walked into my in-laws’ house on Sunday and saw my father-in-law pulling a cookie sheet out of the oven and the aroma that filled the room was amazing. I don’t think I can describe it. I think I ate 10. I think I have a cookie problem. We are going to the grocery store tonight to buy the remaining ingredients so that we can bake more cookies tonight.

And speaking of persimmons…I think I am obsessed. I enjoyed going out with Noah, his dad, and his brother to pick more persimmons on Sunday. We picked what we could, but we have to wait for the frost before more will fall. I am waaaaiting (but not very patiently)… I am ready for more.

And in addition to persimmons, apples, and cider, I am ready for pumpkins (it’s already pumpkin spice latte season!), pies, hot chocolate, chowders, and my hometown’s Fall Harvest Festival (which includes two parades and a queen contest!).  So even though the bean dust makes me sneeze and the cold breeze requires me to wear socks, there’s no denying that the months of September-November will always be my favorite time of the year! I hope you enjoy it, too.

Leave a Reply

